Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Walt Whitman, Poet of Democracy


A portrait of poet Walt Whitman (left) seated opposite Peter Doyle. Library of Congress / Corbis/VCG via Getty Images
A portrait of poet Walt Whitman (left) seated opposite Peter Doyle. Library of Congress / Corbis/VCG via Getty Images

Whitman is often touted as the best and most important poet in U.S. history, but he also worked as a teacher and a journalist. And his poetry career didn't start out particularly well.

Tracy's Research:

  • Reynolds, David S. "Walt Whitman: Lives and Legacies." Oxford University Press. 2005.
  • New York Historical Society. "When Did Slavery End in New York State?" http://www.nyhistory.org/community/slavery-end-new-york-state
  • Duke Magazine. "Walt Whitman, Free-Soil Journalist." 8/2/2003. http://dukemagazine.duke.edu/article/walt-whitman-free-soil-journalist
  • Academy of American Poets. "Walt Whitman." https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/walt-whitman
  • Poetry Foundation. "Walt Whitman." https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poets/detail/walt-whitman
  • CUNY. "The Great Fire of 1835." http://www.vny.cuny.edu/FIRE/greatfirestart.html
  • Loving, Jerome. "Reynolds, David. Walt Whitman's America: A Cultural Biography." Walt Whitman Quarterly Review. Vol. 12, No. 4. 1995. http://dx.doi.org/10.13008/2153-3695.1461
  • Kantrowitz, Arnie. " Carpenter, Edward [1844–1929]." J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission. The Walt Whitman Archive. http://whitmanarchive.org/criticism/current/encyclopedia/entry_12.html
  • Folsom, Ed and Kenneth M. Price. "Walt Whitman." The Whitman Archive. http://whitmanarchive.org/biography/walt_whitman/index.html#bohemian
  • Murray, Martin G. "Pete the Great: A Biography of Peter Doyle." The Walt Whitman Archive. http://whitmanarchive.org/criticism/current/anc.00155.html
  • "A Woman's Estimate of Walt Whitman." https://www.sas.upenn.edu/~cavitch/pdf-library/Gilchrist_Whitman.pdf

Topics in this Podcast: literary history, 19th century, brooklyn, LGBTQ history, U.S. history, U.S. civil war, poets, biographies


More to Explore