A Handful of Eclipses in History


Illustration from a newspaper showing New Yorkers looking at a solar eclipse through smoked glass in 1865.  Photo by Kean Collection/Archive Photos/Getty Images
Illustration from a newspaper showing New Yorkers looking at a solar eclipse through smoked glass in 1865. Photo by Kean Collection/Archive Photos/Getty Images

Humans have been recording instances of solar eclipses for thousands of years. Today, we're walking through some of the famous eclipses in history, all while wearing proper eye shielding.

Holly's Research:

  • “Proceedings and Transactions of the Scientific Association, Volumes 4-8.” Meriden Scientific Association. 1891. Accessed online: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=_HcSAAAAYAAJ&rdid=book-_HcSAAAAYAAJ&rdot=1
  • Henry, Dave and Ken Sklute. “Photographic Exposure of a Solar Eclipse.” Canon. Aug. 3, 2017. http://learn.usa.canon.com/resources/articles/2017/solar-eclipse/photographic-exposure-solar-eclipse.shtml
  • Baikouzis, Constantino and Marcelo O. Magnasco. “Is an eclipse described in the Odyssey?” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America.” July 1, 2008. Accessed online: http://www.pnas.org/content/105/26/8823.full.pdf
  • Minkel, J.R. “Homer's Odyssey Said to Document 3,200-Year-Old Eclipse.” Scientific American. June 23, 2008. https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/homers-odyssey-may-document-eclipse/
  • NASA. “Lunar Eclipses and Solar Eclipses.” NASA Space Place. https://spaceplace.nasa.gov/eclipses/en/
  • Kooser, Amanda. “First photo of a total solar eclipse was snapped in 1851.” CNet. August 12, 2017. https://www.cnet.com/news/photo-total-solar-eclipse-1851-berkowski-daguerreotype/
  • The Editors of Encyclopædia Britannica. “Francis Baily.” Encyclopædia Britannica.October 03, 2011. https://www.britannica.com/biography/Francis-Baily
  • Reinhard, Schielicke, and Wittmann, Axel D. “On the Berkowski daguerreotype (Königsberg, 1851 July 28): the first correctly-exposed photograph of the solar corona.” Acta Historica Astronomiae. Vol. 25. p. 128-147.
  • Royal Astronomical Society. “Proceedings.” Vol. IV. No. 2. December 9, 1836. Accessed online: http://articles.adsabs.harvard.edu/cgi-bin/nph-iarticle_query?bibcode=1836MNRAS...4...15B&db_key=AST&page_ind=0&plate_select=NO&data_type=GIF&type=SCREEN_GIF&classic=YES
  • Hales, William. “Chronology and Geography.” C.J.G. & F. Rivington. 1830. Accessed online: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=aNfVAAAAMAAJ&rdid=book-aNfVAAAAMAAJ&rdot=1
  • Time and Date. “What is an annular solar eclipse?” https://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/annular-solar-eclipse.html
  • Time and Date. “What Is a Total Solar Eclipse?” https://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/total-solar-eclipse.html
  • Time and Date. “What is a Hybrid Solar Eclipse?” https://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/hybrid-solar-eclipse.html
  • Jackson, John. “Chronological antiquities: or, the antiquities and chronology of the most ancient kingdoms, from the creation of the world, for the space of five thousand years. In three volumes.” London. 1752. Accessed online: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=E5A-_5zZs5sC&rdid=book-E5A-_5zZs5sC&rdot=1
  • NASA. “Eclipse 101.” Eclipse History. https://eclipse2017.nasa.gov/eclipse-history
  • Boyle, Rebecca. “How Artists Have Depicted Eclipses Across History.” The Atlantic. Sept. 2, 2016. https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2016/09/an-artists-view-of-an-eclipse/498548/
  • Siegel, Ethan. “How a Solar Eclipse First Proved Einstein Right.” Forbes. July 4, 2017. https://www.forbes.com/sites/startswithabang/2017/07/04/how-a-solar-eclipse-first-proved-einstein-right/#6e7fe325766a
  • Buchen, Lizzie. “May 29, 1919: A Major Eclipse, Relatively Speaking.” Wired. May 29, 2009. https://www.wired.com/2009/05/dayintech_0529/
  • Mansky, Jackie. “A Brief History of Eclipse Chasers.” Smithsonian. August 3. 2017. http://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/brief-history-eclipse-chasers-180964063/

Topics in this Podcast: science history, astronomy