The Peterloo Massacre


“Dreadful Scene at Manchester Meeting of Reformers 16 August 1819.” Published by J.Evans and Sons Public domain

The Peterloo Massacre took place during a peaceful protest for parliamentary reform in Manchester, England. And there was a lot feeding into why people in Britain, and specifically in the region around Manchester, thought that reform was needed.

Tracy's Research:

  • Mather, Ruth. “The Peterloo Massacre.” British Library. 5/15/2014. https://www.bl.uk/romantics-and-victorians/articles/the-peterloo-massacre
  • Matthews, Rupert. “Why were there so few casualties at Peterloo?” History Extra. January 2013 .https://www.historyextra.com/period/georgian/qa-why-were-there-so-few-casualties-at-peterloo/
  • Bates, Steven. “The Peterloo Massacre.” History Extra. https://www.historyextra.com/period/georgian/peterloo-massacre-1819-protestors-struggle-democracy/
  • Bruton, F.A., editor. Bishop Edward Stanley, William Jolliffe Lord Hylton and John Benjamin-Smith. “Three Accounts of Peterloo.” University of Manchester at The University of Manchester Press. 1921. Via Google books. https://play.google.com/books/reader?id=AX1nAAAAMAAJ&hl=en
  • “Full text of the Riot Act (c. 1714 - 1715).” Via Project Gutenberg. http://www.gutenberg.org/files/8142/8142-h/8142-h.htm
  • Darby, Nell. “Reading The Riot Act.” Criminal Historian. 8/1/2015. http://www.criminalhistorian.com/reading-the-riot-act/
  • Darby, Nell. “Still Reading The Riot Act.” Criminal Historian. 8/2/2015. http://www.criminalhistorian.com/still-reading-the-riot-act/
  • The History Press. “The March of the Blanketeers 1817.” https://www.thehistorypress.co.uk/articles/the-march-of-the-blanketeers-1817/
  • Boughton, John. "Peterloo Massacre." St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide, edited by Neil Schlager, vol. 2, St. James Press, 2004, pp. 117-121. U.S. History in Context, https://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3408900235/GPS?u=mlin_n_melpub&sid=GPS&xid=bc02aad1. Accessed 3 July 2019.
  • Poole, Robert. “The March to Peterloo: Politics and Festivity in Late Georgian England.” Past & Present, No. 192 (Aug., 2006). Oxford University Press on behalf of The Past and Present Society. https://www.jstor.org/stable/4125200
  • Poole, Robert. “The March to Peterloo: Politics and Festivity in Late Georgian England.” Past & Present, No. 192 (Aug., 2006). Via JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/stable/4125200
  • Bush, M.L. “The Women at Peterloo: The Impact of Female Reform on the Manchester Meeting of 16.” History, Vol. 89, No. 2 (294) (April 2004). Via JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/stable/24427279
  • Poole, Robert. “'By the Law or the Sword': Peterloo Revisited.” History, Vol. 91, No. 2 (302) (APRIL 2006). Via JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/stable/24427836
  • Roberts, Andrew. “The Trouble with Tax.” BBC. http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/history/longview/longview_20031021.shtml
  • Boyer, George R. "Corn Laws." History of World Trade Since 1450, edited by John J. McCusker, vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 160-163. U.S. History in Context, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3447600099/GPS?u=mlin_n_melpub&sid=GPS&xid=3f0e3204. Accessed 22 July 2019.
  • National Archives. “Voting rights before 1832.” http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/pathways/citizenship/struggle_democracy/getting_vote.htm#top
  • Parlaiment. “Chartists.” https://www.parliament.uk/about/living-heritage/transformingsociety/electionsvoting/chartists/keydates/

Topics in this Podcast: 19th century, Protests, massacres, luddites, labor, European history, British history