Annie Edson Taylor, Niagara Daredevil


Annie Edson Taylor Public domain

Annie Edson Taylor was the first person to go over Niagara Falls in a barrel. Taylor’s whole barrel trip was part of a much bigger story of daredevils at this natural wonder, which is tied to its industrialization and commercialization.

Tracy's Research:

  • "OVER FALLS AND LIVES." Boston Daily Globe (1872-1922), Oct 25 1901, p. 1. ProQuest. Web. 22 June 2018 .
  • Abbott, Karen. “The Daredevil of Niagara.” 10/18/2011. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-daredevil-of-niagara-falls-110492884/
  • Allam, Lorena. “'Not the usual carnival show-off': Annie Edson Taylor at Niagara Falls.” Hindsight. ABC Radio National. http://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/archived/hindsight/not-the-usual-carnival-show-off-annie-edson-taylor/2999524
  • Bailey, George. “Sam Patch: Niagara Falls Daredevil.” Niagara Falls Tourism. https://www.niagarafallstourism.com/blog/sam-patch-niagara-first-daredevil/
  • Biography.com “Annie Edson Taylor.” https://www.biography.com/people/annie-edson-taylor-195766
  • Cavendish, Richard. “Blondin’s first tightrope-walk across Niagara Falls.” History Today. 6/6/2009. https://www.historytoday.com/richard-cavendish/blondin%E2%80%99s-first-tightrope-walk-across-niagara-falls
  • Cochran, Ford. “National Rivers: Gorges, Falls, and Meanders.” Lecture no. 17 from the course: Wonders of the National Parks: A Geology of North America. The Great Courses Plus. https://www.thegreatcoursesplus.com/films/title/national-rivers-gorges-falls-and-meanders?start=1790
  • Maid of the Mist History. https://www.maidofthemist.com/the-maid-experience/maid-history/
  • Niagara Falls State Park. “Niagara Falls History.” https://www.niagarafallsstatepark.com/niagara-falls-state-park/history
  • Noble, William C.. "The Neutral Confederacy". The Canadian Encyclopedia. Toronto: Historica Canada, 2007. Web. 1 Oct 2007. https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/neutral/
  • Przepasniak, Ellen. “Annie Edson Taylor makes history 115 years ago by going over the falls in a barrel.” 10/24/2016. https://buffalonews.com/2016/10/24/oct-24-1901-annie-edson-taylor-first-person-survive-going-niagara-falls-barrel/
  • Rossen, Jake. “Annie Taylor, The First Person to Cheat Death Over Niagara Falls.” Mental Floss. 10/24/2017. http://mentalfloss.com/article/508269/annie-taylor-first-person-cheat-death-over-niagara-falls
  • Runte, Alfred. “NATIONAL PARKS The American Experience.” https://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/runte1/
  • Strongman, Susan. “In Loving Memory of Bobby Leach.” The Wireless. 7/31/2017. http://thewireless.co.nz/articles/in-loving-memory-of-bobby-leach
  • Taylor, Annie Edson. “Over the Falls: Annie Edson Taylor’s Story of Her Life.” July 15, 1902. Via Archive.org. https://archive.org/stream/overfallsannieed00tayluoft#page/n3/mode/2up
  • WBUR. “The First Person To Go Over Niagara Falls In A Barrel (And Survive).” Hear and Now. June 12, 2012. http://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2012/06/12/niagara-falls-barrel

Topics in this Podcast: biographies, 20th century, U.S. history