Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Show Notes: Edmonia Lewis


Bust of Dr. Dio Lewis, Edmonia Lewis Museum purchase with funds provided by the Eddie and Sylvia Brown Challenge Grant and matching funds, 2002
Bust of Dr. Dio Lewis, Edmonia Lewis Museum purchase with funds provided by the Eddie and Sylvia Brown Challenge Grant and matching funds, 2002

Born in the 1840s, Edmonia Lewis became the first woman of African-American and Native American heritage to find renown as a sculptor. The beginning and end of her life are somewhat mysterious, but in between, she became a widely celebrated artist, especially in Rome.

Our listener mail is from Laura about our interview on Sears history.

Episode link: Edmonia Lewis

Holly's research:

  • "Edward Augustus Brackett." Oxford Reference. Jan. 1, 2007. http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/oi/authority.20110803095523168
  • "Robert Gould Shaw." Civil War Trust. http://www.civilwar.org/education/history/biographies/robert-gould-shaw.html
  • "Sculpting a Career With Curator George Gurney." Eye Level. Smithsonian Institute. Sept. 20, 2011. http://eyelevel.si.edu/2011/09/sculpting-a-career-with-curator-george-gurney.html
  • "William Lloyd Garrison, 1805-1879." Africans in America. PBS. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aia/part4/4p1561.html
  • Biography.com Editors. "Edmonia Lewis Biography." Biography.com. May 20, 2015. http://www.biography.com/people/edmonia-lewis-9381053
  • Edmonia Lewis Center: https://new.oberlin.edu/student-life/diversity/edmonia-lewis-center.dot
  • Grossman, Ron. "2 Saviors Vie for 'Cleopatra.'" Chicago Tribune. June 20, 1988. http://articles.chicagotribune.com/1988-06-20/features/8801090160_1_piece-of-black-history-edmonia-lewis-paint-cans
  • Lavin, Talla. "The Life and Death of Edmonia Lewis, Spinster and Sculptor." The Toast. Nov. 2, 2015. http://the-toast.net/2015/11/02/the-life-and-death-of-edmonia-lewis/
  • May, Stephen. "The Object at Hand." Smithsonian. September 1996. http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-object-at-hand-4-121205387/?story=fullstory&page=1
  • Perry, Regenia A. "Free Within Ourselves: African American Artists in the Collection of the National Museum of American Art." National Museum of American Art in Association with Pomegranate Art Books. Washington, D.C. 1992.

More to Explore